For Immediate Release: December 14, 2016

AtlantiCare awards 57 mini-grants
to support school garden and wellness activities
in Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean counties

AtlantiCare Healthy Schools, Healthy Children (HSHC), a program of the AtlantiCare Foundation, has announced its mini-grant recipients for the 2016-2017 school year. The more than $57,000 in 57 mini-grants will go to schools in Atlantic, Cape May and Southern Ocean counties. The grants will support new and existing school gardens and wellness activities.

AtlantiCare will recognize the awarded schools and formally present checks during an educational school garden and wellness workshop on Thursday, January 12 from 9 a.m. - 3 p.m. at The Lodge at Lakeside at Stockton University.

AtlantiCare introduced its HSHC Program in 2005. It now partners with 102 schools, from kindergarten through high school. AtlantiCare HSHC awarded the 2016-2017 mini-grants to schools that demonstrated innovative initiatives aimed at encouraging physical activity and healthy eating habits among students and their families as well as staff.

“We’re pleased to continue supporting school gardening programs, including new technologies that include hydroponic farming and the construction of year-round growing spaces. Funding allows schools to develop and sustain activities, ensuring health and wellness remain a priority to their school community,” said Laura Engelmann, MHA, community health and wellness manager, AtlantiCare.

Awarded schools and grants are as follows:

$1500 New Edible School Garden/Alternative Garden Award
• Atlantic Christian School, Egg Harbor Township
• Avalon Elementary School, Avalon
• Clayton J. Davenport Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Estell Manor Elementary School, Estell Manor
• Folsom Elementary School, Folsom
• H. Ashton Marsh Elementary School, Absecon
• Hammonton Middle School, Hammonton
• International Academy of Atlantic City Charter School, Pleasantville
• Northfield Community School, Northfield
• Pleasantville High School, Pleasantville
• Slaybaugh Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• South Main Street School, Pleasantville
• Upper Township Elementary School, Marmora
• Upper Township Middle School, Woodbine
• Woodbine Elementary School, Woodbine

$800 Sustained Edible School Garden Award
• Absegami High School, Galloway Township
• Alder Avenue Middle School, Egg Harbor Township
• Atlantic County Special Services School District, Mays Landing
• Dawes Avenue School, Somers Point
• Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. School Complex, Atlantic City
• Emma C. Attales Middle School, Absecon
• Ethel A. Jacobsen Elementary School, Surf City
• George L. Hess Educational Complex, Mays Landing
• Jordan Road School, Somers Point
• Joseph Shaner Elementary School, Mays Landing
• Oakcrest High School, Mays Landing
• Ocean City Primary School, Ocean City
• Roland Rogers Elementary School, Galloway Township
• St. Joseph Regional School, Hammonton
• Washington Avenue Elementary School, Pleasantville
• Weymouth Township Elementary School, Dorothy
• William Davies Middle School, Mays Landing

$800 Healthy School & Healthy Garden Award
• Buena Regional Middle School, Buena
• Chelsea Heights School, Atlantic City
• Dr. J.P. Cleary Elementary School, Minotola
• H. Russell Swift Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Mullica Township Elementary School, Elwood
• Pinelands Regional High School, Tuckerton
• Stone Harbor Elementary School, Stone Harbor

$800 Healthy School Wellness Award
• Assumption Regional Catholic School, Galloway
• Atlantic County Institute of Technology, Mays Landing
• Brigantine Elementary School, Brigantine
• Charles L. Spragg Elementary, Egg Harbor City
• Clayton J. Davenport Elementary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Egg Harbor City Community School, Egg Harbor City
• Egg Harbor Township High School, Egg Harbor Township
• Galloway Township Child Care Program, Galloway Township
• Glenwood Avenue Elementary School, Wildwood
• Highland Academy, Galloway Township
• Mainland Regional High School, Linwood
• Mullica Township Middle School, Elwood
• Port Republic School, Port Republic
• Seaview Elementary School, Linwood
• Slaybaugh Primary School, Egg Harbor Township
• Sovereign Avenue School, Atlantic City
• Uptown School Complex, Atlantic City
• Ventnor Educational Community Complex, Ventnor City

For more information about AtlantiCare’s Healthy Schools, Healthy Children Program, visit www.atlanticare.org/healthyschools or call the AtlantiCare Access Center at 1-888-569-1000.

Jennifer Tornetta, (O) 609-569-7010, (C) 609-335-3446, jennifer.tornetta@atlanticare.org 
Heather Costabile, 609-653-0400 x112, heather.costabile@atlanticare.org 



AtlantiCare, a member of Geisinger Health System, is an integrated system of services designed to help people achieve optimal health. It includes AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center, AtlantiCare Health Engagement, the AtlantiCare Foundation, and AtlantiCare Health Services. Its more than 5,400 employees and more than 700 physicians serve the community in nearly 70 locations. A 2009 Malcolm Baldrige Award winner, AtlantiCare was also included in Modern Healthcare’s Best Places to Work in Healthcare in 2010. ARMC became the 105th hospital in the nation to attain status as a Magnet™ designated hospital in March of 2004 and was redesignated a Magnet™ hospital in 2008 and 2013.

© Copyright AtlantiCare 2016. All Rights Reserved.